8 weeks- Tired, First midwife Appt, and Derby

What a challenging week! Saturday was the Kentucky Derby and during this week we were doing final touches on the main and guests houses which included fresh flowers, stocking all with food for the gluten free, vegan, & vegetarians diets, and building snack bags for the limos. Let me tell you; shopping for a gluten free/ vegan is challenging, especially with such late notice. Also, had to arrive everyday at 6 in the morning to clean both offices and stock with fresh pastries and coffee by 8 a.m every day. Then since the owner and a couple guests had come in on Sunday, we had to restock food and touch up their kitchens, bedrooms, and bathrooms when they left for a walk, shopping, or meeting. And finally at noon, we setup a catered lunch for the managers and office workers.

I was fortunate to have four high energy days, but this only meant until 1 p.m. and then it was a fight to keep my eyes open. Since we were catering lunch and considered working thru lunch, I couldn’t go home to nap. Usually I get to go home early on ‘working lunch days’ but not during derby week. Lucky me I was approved for overtime, ugh. So, most days when I had a chance, I took a long nap when I got home from work.

Tuesday, I had my first appointment with my midwife. They took blood and urine and scheduled an ultrasound. Because I am 35, my insurance covers genetic testing. One test, called the Harmony test, I can do at 10 weeks, will also tell us the sex of the baby. That was exciting news to hear!

Wednesday, Winstar farm(Felipe’s work place and part owner of Carpe Diem), had their “Derby party”, while the entries for the Derby were being announced over the radio. I had to work late and missed my Dunyavi choreography class but was determined to make it to the Winstar party. I raced home from work, threw on my only dress that fits and is quite snug in the chest, and headed over to the party. I was tired but in a good/cranky hungry kinda mood. They had mexican food catering. I thought it was delicious! They had tables setup between two log cabins overlooking the rolling fields. Felipe ended up winning $25 dollars in the raffle drawing and then they passed our hats and shirts to all the employees. Then we went home for an early bedtime.

Thursday I got to nap after work. Friday, Felipe called me on my way home from working a 10 hr day and told me to come on over to our down the street neighbor’s house. The realtor was showing our apartment and we were having dinner and watching Game of Thrones with Viane that night so it worked out perfect. We watched the Kentucky Oaks coverage while she prepared the empanadas. That was nice even though I almost fell asleep. Had an early bedtime that night as well.

Saturday, I got to sleep in and started cutting out a big order of LeoToes for a customer in Australia. I didn’t have to get to work till noon to touch up the houses. When I got to work, it went slow and we didn’t get done till 4 p.m. I had time to go home for an hour and change and grab a snack before I had to be back for the StoneStreet Derby party at 5 p.m. I say had to be back, but I wanted to. I would miss out on everything if I slept when I was tired. Carpe Diem lost, heck didn’t even place, but it was a beautiful day and Felipe and I got to eat pizza. I went home and took a 3 hours nap and then Felipe and I figured out how to watch the big fight on the internet, eat popcorn and pastries at midnight.

I failed once again this week to limit my carbs and sugar, but with all the leftover pastries from the expensive french bakery, I couldn’t pass them up. Plus, I didn’t get any exercise in, unless you count working overtime. There is always next week!

Saturday, May 2, 2015
Mood: good
Energy: high
Appetite: med
Morning Sickness: none
Cravings: none
Meal Notes: Granola, strawberries, and almond milk. 
2 beef empanadas. Celery and cream cheese. Beef jerky. 
2 pieces of veggie Papa Murphy pizza. 
Chia kombuchu. half a Chocolate crossiant. 
Vitamins: 2 prenatal, Reishi, Butter/cod liver oil. 

Friday, May 1, 2015
Mood: good
Energy: high
Appetite: med
Morning Sickness: none
Cravings: none 
Meal Notes: Granola, strawberries, almond milk. 
Beef jerky. Kale chips. 3 strawberry curd pastries. 
Salad and mixed fruit. 2 apricot pasteries. 
2 beef empanadas and salad. Strawberry/raspberry water
Vitamins: 1 Prenatal, Reishi 

Thursday, April 30, 2015
Mood: good
Energy: low
Appetite: med
Morning Sickness: tired
Cravings: none
Meal Notes: Boiled egg and babybell cheese.
Charcuterie and cheese tray. Chocolate crossiant. 
Chicken, salad, mixed fruit, potatoes. Grapefruit. 
Granola, berries, almond milk. Lemon water.
Homemade buffalo chicken nachos with
sour cream and jalapeños. 
Vitamins. 2 prenatal, Reishi. Butter/Cod Liver Oil

Wednesday, April 29, 2015
Mood: good
Energy: high
Appetite: medium
Morning Sickness: none
Cravings: none
Other Notes: Two boiled eggs, two babybell cheeses. 
Beef tips and egg noodles, steamed squash, 
salad, mixed fruit, brownie. Refried beans, rice, 
chicken, pico de gallo, guacamole. 
Vitamins: 2 prenatal, Reishi, butter/cod liver oil.
 
Tuesday, April 28, 2015
Weight: 132.0 Lb
Mood: good
Energy: medium
Appetite: fair
Morning Sickness: none
Cravings: none
Other Notes: Apricot chicken on a roll and 
coconut curry granola with strawberries and 
almond milk. Lasagna and salad. Mixed fruit. 
Lemon bar. Grapefruit. Four pieces of supreme pizza. 
Vitamins: 2 prenatal, Reishi 

Monday, April 27, 2015
Mood: good
Energy: high
Appetite: Ned
Morning Sickness: none
Cravings: none
Other Notes: Two pieces of Greek pizza. 
Apricot chicken, roll, potatoes, mixed veggies, 
Choco chip cookie, mixed fruit. Lentils and fish. 
Vitamins: 1 prenatal, Reishi
 
Sunday, April 26, 2015
Mood: good
Energy: medium
Appetite: none
Morning Sickness: none
Cravings: none
Other Notes: Steak, rice, eggs, 3 croissants. 
Frosted mini wheats and almond milk. 
Four pieces of Greek pizza and fries. 
Cucumber/orange water. 
Vitamins: 2 prenatal, Reishi, Butter/cod liver oil.
Leave a Reply

